Sponsored links

Yertle the Turtle and other Stories

Yertle the Turtle and other Stories are by the writer and illustrator Dr. Seuss(March 4, 1904-September 24, 1991). Random House published the collection of fables in 1950. Yertle the Turtle, Gertrude McFuzz and the Big Brag are the three stories in the collection. The classic Dr Seuss picture book is for kids between four and eight-years-old(ages 4-8).

A turtle, Yertle, wants to be the king of the pond. He asks the other turtles to pile one on top of another. They comply with Yertle’s request. He becomes the top turtle on the pile. He claims to rule all he can see. Unfortunately, Yertle builds his kingdom on the backs’ of the other turtles. King Yertle ignores the starving turtles’ loud cries for food. The turtles revolt. Yertle’s kingdom falls as so does he, now he is the king of the pond’s muck. What’s the big deal of being the big turtle of the scrap heap? His coveting of power is his downfall.

Gertrude McFuzz is a good-looking bird with a plain tail. Gertrude covets Lolla-Lee-Lou beautiful tail. Lolla-Lee-Lou’s tail is full-feathered. Gertrude, which has only one tail feather, gets her wish. However, she discovers she cannot walk, fly or run. What is a bird who cannot do these things? Her coveting of beauty is her downfall.

The Big Brag is between a bear and rabbit. They each brag to be the best beast in the world. Why? One animal brags as having the best ears for hearing. The other forest animal claims he has the best nose for smelling. A worm happens along and stops to listen to their debate. He decides the bear and rabbit are the biggest fools. The worm returns to work shaking his head at their absurdity. Rabbit and bear’s bragging draws laughter from the worm and other animals. Their coveting of superiority brings jeers from others.

Dr. Seuss’s collection of fables is as stories of old. Like Aesop’s Fables, Dr. Seuss’s fables are a combination of humor and wisdom. His moral stories help humans lead a better life. Parents and teachers can share the story book with toddlers, preschool and elementary kids. Discuss the fables and their message with children. Use Yertle the Turtle and other Stories to introduce young people to fables.

List of Dr. Seuss Classic Books
And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street, 1937
Bartholomew and the Oobleck, 1949
The Butter Battle Book, 1984
Cat in the Hat, 1957
Cat in the Hat Comes Back, 1958
Cat's Quizzer, The
Daisy-Head Mayzie
Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are? 1973
Dr. Seuss ABC, 1963
Dr. Seuss Sleep Book, 1962
The Five Hundred Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins, 1938
The Foot Book, 1968
Fox in Socks, 1965
Great Day for Up! 1974
Green Eggs and Ham, 1960
Happy Birthday to You, 1959
Hop on Pop, 1963
Horton Hatches the Egg, 1940
Horton Hears a Who, 1954
How the Grinch Stole Christmas, 1957
Hunches in Bunches, 1982
I Am Not Going to Get up Today!, 1987
I Can Draw It Myself: By Me, Myself with a Little Help from My Friend Dr. Seuss, 1970
I Can Lick Thirty Tigers Today & Other Stories, 1969
I Can Read with My Eyes Shut!, 1978
I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Sollew, 1992
If I Ran the Circus, 1956
If I Ran the Zoo, 1950
King's Stilts, 1939
The Lorax, 1971
McElligot's Pool, 1947
Marvin K. Mooney, Will You Please Go Now, 1972
Mister Brown Can Moo, Can You, 1970
My Book About Me, 1969
Oh, Say Can You Say?, 1979
Oh, the Places You'll Go!, 1990
Oh! The Thinks You Can Think!, 1975
On Beyond Zebra, 1955
One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, 1960
Scrambled Eggs Super!, 1953
The Seven Lady Godivas, 1987
Shape Of Me And Other Stuff, 1973
Sneetches And Other Stories, 1969
There's a Wocket in My Pocket! 1974
Thidwick, the Big-Hearted Moose, 1948
Wet Pet, Dry Pet, Your Pet, My Pet
Yertle the Turtle & Other Stories, 1958
You're Only Old Once