Sponsored links

The Lorax - Dr. Seuss Books

Dr. Seuss is the award-winning and Best-selling American author and illustrator of the story,The Lorax. The classic hardcover book has fifty-six pages. Kids between four and eight-year-old are the target group. The Lorax, like many Dr. Seuss Classic Children Books, is pleasant to all age groups. Besides, The Lorax has a powerful message that everyone on the planet Earth needs to read.

The Lorax begins with a mysterious, old man locked in a tower. At first, he refuses to tell his story. He relents and tells the story of Once-ler. Once-ler finds a beautiful land with tall Truffula trees and green Grickle-Grass. The businessman cuts the Truffula trees and ignores the Jeremiads of the Lorax's warnings. Wreckage replaces the once pristine area, but does Once-ler listen to the Lorax? No! He continues destroying trees to make Thneed, a “Fine thing all people need.”. Soon the air and pond are so polluted all the area's occupants leave. The Lorax are the last to go.

It does not end so sadly. Dr. Seuss gives the reader a ray of hope. On a rock is the single word: UNLESS. Before Once-ler leaves, he gives a small boy the last Truffula tree seed. If this small child realizes, the importance of the seed and nurtures it, there is hope. The mighty forests of Truffula trees with its singing birds and scampering animals will return.

The Lorax is Dr. Seuss’s ecological warning. He wrote it in 1971, but is still an important book today. Today we face global warming. Tree cutting, water and air pollution are major problems. Children need to be aware of the problems facing our earth, their future. The Lorax is one of Dr. Seuss political books.

List of Dr. Seuss Classic Books
And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street, 1937
Bartholomew and the Oobleck, 1949
The Butter Battle Book, 1984
Cat in the Hat, 1957
Cat in the Hat Comes Back, 1958
Cat's Quizzer, The
Daisy-Head Mayzie
Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are? 1973
Dr. Seuss ABC, 1963
Dr. Seuss Sleep Book, 1962
The Five Hundred Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins, 1938
The Foot Book, 1968
Fox in Socks, 1965
Great Day for Up! 1974
Green Eggs and Ham, 1960
Happy Birthday to You, 1959
Hop on Pop, 1963
Horton Hatches the Egg, 1940
Horton Hears a Who, 1954
How the Grinch Stole Christmas, 1957
Hunches in Bunches, 1982
I Am Not Going to Get up Today!, 1987
I Can Draw It Myself: By Me, Myself with a Little Help from My Friend Dr. Seuss, 1970
I Can Lick Thirty Tigers Today & Other Stories, 1969
I Can Read with My Eyes Shut!, 1978
I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Sollew, 1992
If I Ran the Circus, 1956
If I Ran the Zoo, 1950
King's Stilts, 1939
The Lorax, 1971
McElligot's Pool, 1947
Marvin K. Mooney, Will You Please Go Now, 1972
Mister Brown Can Moo, Can You, 1970
My Book About Me, 1969
Oh, Say Can You Say?, 1979
Oh, the Places You'll Go!, 1990
Oh! The Thinks You Can Think!, 1975
On Beyond Zebra, 1955
One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, 1960
Scrambled Eggs Super!, 1953
The Seven Lady Godivas, 1987
Shape Of Me And Other Stuff, 1973
Sneetches And Other Stories, 1969
There's a Wocket in My Pocket! 1974
Thidwick, the Big-Hearted Moose, 1948
Wet Pet, Dry Pet, Your Pet, My Pet
Yertle the Turtle & Other Stories, 1958
You're Only Old Once