Sponsored links

Bartholomew and the Oobleck Dr Seuss

Dr. Seuss writes Bartholomew and the Oobleck. He uses his whimsical illustrations and rhyming verse in the picture book. The kids' story starts with an angry King Derwin. Why is he angry? The sky only gives snow, fog, sunshine, or other variations. He is the King and he demands something new.

Bartholomew is King Derwin’s page who hears King Derwin’s rants. The following morning, the King gets his wish. Green blobs fall from the sky. King Derwin is delighted, but in true Dr. Seuss fashion, the King’s delight turns to horror.

The green blobs or the oobleck become larger and fall faster. They are soon covering everything and oozing everywhere. The Kingdom of Didd is frantic. The hilarity of Bartholomew and the Oobleck comes from turning the pages to read and see how Bartholomew and the Royal staff try to contain the oobleck. As ever more oobleck falls, Dr. Seuss pace increases.

“Beware what you wish for” is the moral of Bartholomew and the Oobleck. Children like King Derwin wish for change. Often, when the wish becomes true, they will do anything to return to the original state. At the book’s end, the king is quite happy with the snow, fog, sunshine and rain. They may be mundane, but he and his Kingdom of Didd are at peace. Also, King Derwin admits his fault in the near disaster.

Bartholomew and the Oobleck by Dr. Seuss is a good picture book for five-years-old and older children. The fifty-six page book is too long for younger children unless read in sections. Their attention span is short. The scenes of the Royal staff racing to stop the oobleck’s flow will delight readers. Dr. Seuss classic story in rhyme is great to read or hear.

List of Dr. Seuss Classic Books

And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street, 1937
Bartholomew and the Oobleck, 1949
The Butter Battle Book, 1984
Cat in the Hat, 1957
Cat in the Hat Comes Back, 1958
Cat's Quizzer, The
Daisy-Head Mayzie
Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are? 1973
Dr. Seuss ABC, 1963
Dr. Seuss Sleep Book, 1962
The Five Hundred Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins, 1938
The Foot Book, 1968
Fox in Socks, 1965
Great Day for Up! 1974
Green Eggs and Ham, 1960
Happy Birthday to You, 1959
Hop on Pop, 1963
Horton Hatches the Egg, 1940
Horton Hears a Who, 1954
How the Grinch Stole Christmas, 1957
Hunches in Bunches, 1982
I Am Not Going to Get up Today!, 1987
I Can Draw It Myself: By Me, Myself with a Little Help from My Friend Dr. Seuss, 1970
I Can Lick Thirty Tigers Today & Other Stories, 1969
I Can Read with My Eyes Shut!, 1978
I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Sollew, 1992
If I Ran the Circus, 1956
If I Ran the Zoo, 1950
King's Stilts, 1939
The Lorax, 1971
McElligot's Pool, 1947
Marvin K. Mooney, Will You Please Go Now, 1972
Mister Brown Can Moo, Can You, 1970
My Book About Me, 1969
Oh, Say Can You Say?, 1979
Oh, the Places You'll Go!, 1990
Oh! The Thinks You Can Think!, 1975
On Beyond Zebra, 1955
One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, 1960
Scrambled Eggs Super!, 1953
The Seven Lady Godivas, 1987
Shape Of Me And Other Stuff, 1973
Sneetches And Other Stories, 1969
There's a Wocket in My Pocket! 1974
Thidwick, the Big-Hearted Moose, 1948
Wet Pet, Dry Pet, Your Pet, My Pet
Yertle the Turtle & Other Stories, 1958
You're Only Old Once
Back to home - Dr.Seuss Poems